Home > Issues&Events > Taiwan Issue
How has the international community recognized that Taiwan belongs to China?

Taiwan is an inalienable part of China - this is not only a historical fact, but also recognized by the international community.

From 1895 to 1945, Taiwan and Penghu Islands were forcibly occupied by Japan. In July 1937, the Chinese people began to launch a war of resistance against Japanese aggression. As part of the world-wide struggle against Fascism, the war received extensive support from people all over the world. During the Second World War, China, the United, States, the Soviet Union, Great Britain, France and others formed an alliance to oppose the fascist Axis of Germany, Japan and Italy. The Cairo Declaration issued jointly by China, the United States and Great Britain on December 1, 1943 stated: "It is the purpose of the three great Allies that Japan shall be stripped of all the islands in the Pacific which she has seized or occupied since the beginning of the First World War in 1914, and that all the territories Japan has stolen from the Chinese, such as Manchuria, Formosa [Taiwan] and the Pescadores [Penghu], shall be restored to China." The Potsdam Proclamation signed by China, the United States and Great Britain on July 26, 1945 and adhered to subsequently by the Soviet Union reiterated: "The terms of the Cairo Declaration shall be carried out."

On August 15, 1945, Japan declared surrender. The instrument of Japan's surrender stipulated that "Japan hereby accepts the provisions in the declaration issued by the heads of the Governments of the United States, China and Great Britain on July 26, 1945 at Potsdam, and subsequently adhered to by the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics." On October 25, the ceremony for accepting Japan's surrender in Taiwan Province of the China War Theater of the Allied powers was held in Taipei. On the occasion the chief officer for accepting the surrender proclaimed on behalf of the Chinese government that from that day forward Taiwan and the Penghu Archipelago were again incorporated formally into the territory of China and that the territory, people and administration were placed under the sovereignty of China. Thereupon, Taiwan and Penghu were put back under the jurisdiction of Chinese sovereignty.

The People's Republic of China, founded in October 1949, is the only legitimate government of whole China. Up to now, it has established formal diplomatic relations with 161 countries. On October 25, 1971 the General Assembly of the United Nations Organization adopted resolution No. 2758 to recognize that "the Government of the People's Republic of China is the sole legal representative of China in the United Nations and the People's Republic of China is one of permanent members of the Security Council" and restored "all the legitimate rights of the People's Republic of China in the United Nations". At the same time, the "representative" of the Taiwan authorities was expelled from the United Nations. The United Nations and the whole world have recognized that there is only one China in the world, Taiwan is an inalienable part of China and the government of the People's Republic of China is the sole legal government representing the whole of China.

Suggest To A Friend: